Outings with the Babes

I’ve managed outings alone with the twins two days in a row now. We have relatively short windows of opportunity in which to get things done while both boys are clean, fed and not in need of a nap. It seems to wear them out, so they often fall asleep in the car on the way home, which is a disaster. They won’t stay asleep in their car seats after we get home, but when I try to gently transfer them, they always wake up from their 10 or 15 minute nap ready to go. This means our regular napping schedule (I use the term loosely) gets messed up.

Truthfully, our lives would probably be easier if we never went out. Then I could keep them on a sleeping, eating, diaper changing, playing schedule. I’ve never been one for keeping children on a schedule but these guys do so much better when we have a solid routine.

Yesterday we tried sitting in the grocery cart for the first time. Neither Peanut Butter nor Jelly can sit very well on their own, but I was counting on the support they could give each other and the waist strap to keep them mostly upright. I also stuffed blankets on the side. I’m not 100% sure it was worth all the trouble. It takes about as long to do that as to put one up on my back. Still, it was fun to see them like that.

Jelly & Peanut Butter in a grocery cart for the first time

Today in the parking lot of a store, I was busily getting the boys sorted out in the cart. It’s in the low 50s F (11C) here and the boys and I were dressed in long pants, socks (well, I had shoes on) and long sleeved shirts. I didn’t bother with hats or coats or sweaters because we only needed to walk from our warm car to the warm store. A well-meaning old lady stopped to, er, help. She was convinced the boys were not dressed warmly enough, that I had the shopping cart too far into the lane of traffic, and that they were not comfortable in the cart. Sigh. I smiled and assured her that we were all fine. She was not at all convinced.

I hope I won’t be the sort of old lady who interferes with others’ parenting choices. I’ll just be condescending and judgmental in my head. J

That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

Posted on December 9, 2011, in Pictures, Twins. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Why oh why do people feel the need to interfere in other’s lives? If you were patently calling for help I’m sure her “assistance” would have been warmly welcomed, but this sort of efficious meddling is just uncalled for. I experience my share, even without twins, and it’s bad for my blood pressure! :)
    I really hope your feeligns of inadequacy have eased up, Jenny. You’re doing the best you can, and that’s more than most people put in. Hang in there.

  2. I hate when that happens. Especially when they talk to my CHILD and not me. Ugh.

    Steph

    PS I just wanted to say that your comments always mean so much to me, even if you think you are saying the same thing. Yours are the best kind.

  3. Good work momma:) I had that happen at Costco when the guys were very small-it was pouring rain and in the process one of them lost a sock and shoe. I was completely frazzled and horrified and then an elderly woman made it very clear she was not impressed with my parenting skills and I almost cried. I’m with you in the pact not to torment overwhelmed moms and kudos to you for keeping a smile. (Your kids are adorable by the way and good job getting out and about!)

    • Oh – the being out when it starts to pour. Ugh. Had that happen once and now I won’t step foot out of the house if there is a cloud in the sky! And thanks for the compliment on the babes. My first two looked more like yours. They are Hapa. :-) And I thought they were the most beautiful creatures on Earth – until I had these two. Now I think they are all four the most beautiful creatures on Earth!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

