Goldfish Confessions

I am a bit (perhaps more than a bit) of a snob when it comes to food. I’m not a foodie. I don’t expect every meal to be an elaborate, organic, locally sourced, exotic deal. I make meatloaf, just like the rest of us. I am picky about the ingredients I use though. Cheez Whiz, Velveeta, Kraft Singles, Hamburger Helper, Totino’s Pizza Rolls, “parmesan” from a green can, soft drinks, Kool-Aid, Wonder Bread, Cool-Whip, and margarine are some examples of things that do not cross the threshold of my house.

But lately I’ve been noticing the beginnings of the food wars with my 15-month-old twins. I try really hard to make mealtimes pleasant and stress-free. I offer them a variety of healthy foods at each meal and let them decide what and how much to eat.

Which is great in theory.

But then there are the days when one or both scream and throw to the floor every.single.thing I offer them, even Trader Joe’s O’s. I know they are hungry and miserable. I start to panic and feel desperate to get something into them.

That’s when the Pepperidge Farm Goldfish come out. I’m embarrassed that I do this. It feels shameful to me, but so far they have never refused to eat them. I know this is not exactly a healthy food item but I feel better knowing they are eating *something*.

It’s a slippery slope though. Where will I stop? I’m giving them Goldfish now. Will I start grabbing a hamburger for them at a fast food restaurant because we’re in a hurry and I didn’t plan well? Will I buy cans of Spaghetti-O’s because it’s a quick meal in a hurry? I’d like to think I won’t. I currently buy Sprout Organic Toddler Meals to have as a quick and ready meal for them when I need it. They are expensive though and I find that when I know they are in the cupboard, I’m much more likely to feed that to them when I’m feeling rushed or harried instead of using them as an emergency backup.

I feel like I’m sliding down the rope faster than I’d hoped. I know a little slippage is inevitable, but I know I need to pay close attention to what’s happening now so that later on I don’t end up wondering why my kids won’t eat anything with a vegetable in it.

That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

Posted on July 23, 2012, in Confessions, Food, Twins. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You’ve probably already seen it, but your post reminds me of this:

    http://sippinglemonade.com/inside-a-toddlers-brain/

    So don’t feel so bad, they’re programmed that way… :)

    At 18 months, we’re still fighting the food wars with our twins. There are good days and bad days, but the last couple weeks have been consistently bad because of a cold that’s been making its way around the house. Colds just destroy any good patterns established with sleeping and eating and this one just wreaked havoc on the girls eating.

    The good news is that even after the couple weeks of seemingly not eating anything during meals, they’re both fine in terms of their growth curves. So the only advice that I can give is that of our doctor: don’t worry about it. They’ll be fine.

    Seems like that’s the mantra of #twinslife.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

