Code Names

Should I keep my family’s real names private?

I’ve been giving some thought to this recently. On our family blog, which is really just baby update stuff, we use all of our real names. It’s a WordPress blog and I have it set as not searchable. We give the address to our friends and family and that’s about it. I am aware that it’s not private and in fact I had that link as my Twitter link at first. I’m not terribly worried about it, as I don’t reveal our address or even the name of our town. Our family knows where we live.

This blog though is one I’m putting out there for the world (but hopefully not my friends and family – Doh!) to read. I will definitely keep my husband’s name private because he is not a social media guy and is very wary about that sort of thing. I don’t use my last name anywhere here or on Twitter and I don’t link this blog or my Twitter account to my Facebook account.

So I suppose I shouldn’t use my kids’ real names either. I notice that most mommy bloggers don’t. They all have cute code names for their family members.

I want cute code names for mine! I know I don’t have a ton of readers, but I think there are at least two or three of you so far. Can you help me pick out my code names or give me guidance?

I already call my hubby “OW” for Other Whole. He’s definitely not a half. In fact, he may be more than a whole because he has to make up for what I lack!

My oldest son is almost 22 years old. He is a musician with a tortured soul. He lives independently, even though that means sleeping on a mattress in someone’s basement. Ugh. I figure he’ll get tired of that eventually. He’s super cool. Like, he is the sort of dude people see and immediately want to hang around with because he looks like and gives off the aura of a quiet rock star. He’s not outgoing, he doesn’t talk a lot and he doesn’t seek followers. He just oozes cool and I don’t know how else to describe that. It’s very attractive to people. We’ll be in a restaurant and wannabe cool dudes approach him and desperately try to engage him in conversation. It’s so interesting to watch.

My second son is almost 20 years old. He is trying to figure out what kind of man he wants to be. He has really worked to seem hard and cold. He has claimed to be an anarchist (that’s finally fading, thank goodness), to hate the police, and to generally want to buck authority. But the truth is that he is a very sweet-hearted kid who thinks of other people’s feelings, wants to have a wife and a family, and needs a major boost of self-confidence. He is friendly and loving, but gets frustrated easily. He is sorely lacking in self-discipline but I’m hoping he’ll get better as he moves through school (he is FINALLY starting community college this semester and I am beyond relieved).

My twins are harder. They are starting to have personalities, but let’s face it: How much personality does a four-month-old baby have? My first one is the bigger of the two, and has a deeper voice. He is generally more willing to sleep and seems to just be more laid back in general. The second kid is the little guy but makes up for it in volume and pitch. He has a cry that I think must be the equivalent of having an ice pick driven through your head. And he is loud. L-O-U-D. He goes from zero to 60 in under 30 seconds. The bigger guy builds up more slowly and never gets that high-pitched screechy scream. They are mo/di twins and I honestly have a hard time telling them apart when they aren’t next to each other. Using physical appearance to come up with a nickname definitely won’t work here. Their size probably doesn’t either because the hope is that the little one will catch up to his brother by the time they are two years old. I’m hopeful that the screaming business won’t outlast infancy (oh pleasepleasepleaseplease).

So how do I come up with a nickname for these two? Even at home I don’t really have cutesy names for them. I call them both boo-boo and pooky-poo and that sort of thing, but when I’m talking about one of them I call them by their given name. How did you choose your family’s code names and what advice do you have for me?

That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

Posted on August 19, 2011, in Family, Questions. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Ha good question. My son’s dubbed Chunky Monkey on the blog because of a few things. He fell in love with a stuffed Monkey called Mr. Monkey and we used to sing him “Brass Monkey” by Beastie boys because of it and in the lyrics it says “Brass Monkey…that Funky Monkey. Brass Monkey Junkie. That funky monkey”…only replaced the junkie with chunky because it was only appropriate 😉
    So Chunky Monkey stuck.
    I just call my husband by his name. It’s Shawn…how generic is that? LOL

  2. Twins could be – Thing 1 and Thing 2 I also have twins, though mine are 21 and I never thought I’d say this, but I long for the days of when they were babies. Maybe, it’s because they liked me back then…

    Older son could be Cool Dude.

    Unfortunately I have nothing clever for your 2nd son. His description reminds me of my son. I call him lazy under my breath, but it’s not very of me.

    • Ooooh good suggestions! It makes me remember the things we would call the twins in utero. I think I have an idea now! I think Son #1 will be just “Dude”. I’ll have to sit on that for a bit. Son #2 is…. hrm. yeh lazy would be descriptive but not nice of me. LOL!

  3. Hi there!

    Thanks for your comment on my Prepping for Preschool post over at How Do You Do It. You had asked how I found out about our preschool. Honestly, it wasn’t something I went searching for. Two families in our neighborhood had sent their children there, and after hearing them talk about it, I knew it was something that I was very interested in for my own children. If you’re looking for something similar in your area, try doing a search for cooperative preschools near you and/or schools with the Reggio Emilia philosophy. I learned from my own preschool search that not all co-ops are created equal, so it’s probably best to check them out in person if you can.

    And as for the cutesy anonymous names. I chose to keep us all anonymous because both my husband and I are public school teachers (although, I’m currently home with the kids), and I didn’t want anyone to be able to find information about our family by searching our names (not sure if anyone would really do that, but I just wanted to be safe). Buba’s name was easy because that’s what we called him when he was a baby (I still do sometimes, but it’s more rare nowadays). I left out the double b because Buba’s real name is pretty uncommon, so an uncommon spelling for his screen name seemed appropriate. Tiny is tiny and, most likely, will always be on the small side among her peers (neither my husband nor I are tall), so the name seemed to fit. I use reanbean, a nickname that goes way back to Jr. High, and my husband is T, the first letter of his first name (no so original with that one).

    Not sure if that helps or not. For what it’s worth, I like Boo-boo and Pooky-Poo. :o)

    • I did a quick search on cooperative preschools and did find one in my area. It looks interesting. I’m so glad you wrote that post about yours!
      And I like boo-boo and pooky-poo too but I call them those interchangeably so it won’t help me distinguish them in my own mind when I’m writing – if that makes any sense.

Leave a Reply

