On Blogging, Part 2

A while back I posted on the pressure I put on myself to blog three times a week. It was making me sort of sick to my stomach and causing me some stress, so I decided to just post as I wanted to, whether that be one time, three times, or even five times a week.

You can see the results of that. I haven’t posted in nearly two weeks. It’s not that I don’t have subjects in mind or even that I need to sit down and hash something out. I have many posts pre-written in my head. The problem is that now that I don’t have the pressure to perform, I simply don’t perform. I don’t make time for it and that bothers me.

I’d like to find a balance between putting some pressure on myself to post, and having a sense of forgiveness for myself as well. I’m a person of extremes, so I don’t know how to do that.

Right now time seems to be slipping away from me. The house is a mess, I often forget to start dinner until it’s almost too late to bother, My personal grooming habits have, uh, deteriorated somewhat and my kids sometimes wear the same footie pajamas 24 hours a day for two or three days in a row. What am I doing with my time? I never seem to stop moving so I don’t understand why nothing is getting done, including writing. I’m beginning to become really overwhelmed. I know I would feel better if I got the house under control and wrote several blog posts to have in the coffers but I just don’t know where or how I’ll find the time.

How do you find (make) time to write and take care of all of your other duties too?

That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

Posted on November 1, 2011, in A piece of my soul, Questions, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. It helps me to remind myself that the reason I wanted to get blogs written & posted is… because I WANTED to write. Granted, that doesn’t help calm the “oh crap” feeling when I realize it’s 11:30 p.m. and I haven’t written the daily post I privately committed myself to do… But it does put it back in perspective–“oh yeah, I WANTED to push myself to be writing.” There was a reason for that… 🙂

    • Oh, the 11:30 p.m. freak out… I was doing that a lot. My husband gets annoyed that I haven’t come to bed and he has no idea what I’m doing. This blog is a secret to my RL friends and family. Right now I’m squeezing in writing time when the boys are both asleep at once and I should be vacuuming or doing dishes. 🙂

  2. If i had the magical answer…i’ll let you in on it.
    If I took a picture of my home, myself and my kid who has remaind half naked for the entire day (don’t worry he has undies on) you’d probably cringe. Seriously. i think I just found a raisin on my carpet and we haven’t had raisins in weeks.
    Wait…is that even a raisin.
    Anyways, you have to just do the things that are most important to you. Like bathing. That’s a good start…LOL. No matter what i do, I take care of me first and the blogging last…yes LAST. It’s not a job. I’m not getting paid to do it so it comes last.
    I’m really sorry that you’re feeling overwhelmed lately. I really hope that you are doing self care (things that make you smile) at least once a day. Promise me you do??
    Hugs.

    • The raisin comment made me laugh. I’m sick of watching dog hair tumbleweeds float across the living room. I’m keeping up with dishes, laundry and most of the dog hair, and I think that’s the best I can do right now, blogging or no blogging. I wonder if I’ll ever NOT be overwhelmed!

  3. Mike (@hobbesoh)

    As far as I can tell, here’s the list of priorities being a twin parent:

    1) Keeping the twins alive
    2) Keeping the twins entertained
    3) Taking care of yourself (Mum)
    4) Taking care of your relationship with Dad
    5) Everyone else

    Every day is a struggle to do 1 & 2, so 3 and onwards, well they never happen. You may be blogging for yourself, or you may be blogging for the enjoyment of others – it’s important to figure out where it falls on the priority list and let it go if you don’t quite make it there every day.

    But I will say one thing for sure: we (everyone else) enjoy each and every post for what it is – the unvarnished truth. Every time we get to read one – it’s a treat – a treat of the truth of raising twins. So personally, if I get to read a new post once a month or once a day, I couldn’t be happier either way. Just find the time to write as it’s important for you to get this stuff out… your public will wait eagerly, enjoy every word, but never will expect more than you are willing to give.

    • What a great commenter you are! I’ve seen you around before but have not properly introduced myself. Hi Mike, I’m Jenny. Do you have a blog or Twitter account?

      So far I’ve managed to live up to #1 and mostly with #2. I’m trying so hard to work on #4 because without that, everything else will crumble. It is a top priority for me, but I’m doing a crappy job of it right now. Why I blog is something I tried to work out before I started. I do it because I have stuff inside that needs to come out, and I’m a bit(!) of an exhibitionist. So far, most of my blogging is pretty self-indulgent, but I have to admit that I crave feedback and hope that someone reads and maybe even finds something they can relate to. My hope is also that my writing skills will begin to come back; they’ve been dormant for some years now. Thanks for reading – really.

      • Mike (@hobbesoh)

        Hey Jenny, good to meet you too. I’m reading… and enjoying, but not in a train wreck-y way, it’s just great to see someone exposing the truth about raising twins. It’s dirty, yucky, and full of life compromises, which we can only hope all works out in the end.

        Don’t get me wrong, I love being a dad of twin girls and wouldn’t have it any other way, but no book or midwife prepared us for what was going to happen. I think that your blog is one of the few resources out there that tells it like it is… This sh*t is hard and it takes every bit of energy for my wife to get through the days.

        I’m on twitter @hobbesoh.

Leave a Reply

