First Day-Trip with the Twins

We went to the 4th annual Seagrove Pottery Festival this weekend. This was our first all-day trip out with the twins and I was scared to death. They are 7 months old and we’d never taken a day trip! It was a two-hour drive each way. We thought we’d drive out, spend a couple of hours there and then drive back. Instead, we left the house at 9:30 a.m. and didn’t return until 6:30 p.m. They boys did so much better than I thought they would, but I attribute that almost entirely to the fact that we wore them the entire time. No stroller whatsoever. After wearing them at the State Fair last month, I think OW realized what a good idea it really is.

This was at the Farmers Market a couple of months ago.

We took them off only a couple of times to change diapers and nurse. On every aisle we were stopped over and over by people expressing astonishment at the fact that we had twins and were wearing them. Ha! It is such a strange thing to me that it is strange. I pitied the folks trying to navigate a stroller through the maze of very expensive, very fragile pottery.

We ended up spending way more than we’d planned on, but isn’t that the way it is? These are pieces that will appreciate in value and things we love. We even won a gorgeous piece in a silent auction. There is a very well-known potter named Boyd Owens who was so friendly and kind to us. He gave us two Noah’s Ark themed mugs for the boys and it made my heart flutter!

Some of the pieces we bought.

The boys started crying when we were about 15 minutes from the house, which was difficult, but they were calm the rest of the evening. We were triumphant in our victory, but we celebrated too soon. Peanut Butter and Jelly did not sleep well at all that night, and we thought we’d lose our minds before sunrise. Was it a coincidence or punishment for our gall?

The success of this trip is making me think that maybe we’re starting to turn a corner. I’m finding a bit easier to have a predictable routine, I can plan little errands out of the house without it causing a meltdown for all of us, and the boys can play and entertain themselves for a little while at a time. I’m afraid to be too optimistic but I don’t want to have a negative attitude that becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy either.

Now if we could just get this sleep thing worked out…

Funky piggy banks for the boys. Check out the teeth on the blue one and the tusks on the green one!

When did you attempt your first day trip out with your newborn? I’m especially interested in hearing from you if you have twins.

That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

Posted on November 21, 2011, in Attachment Parenting, Family, Pictures, Twins. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Jenny, it somehow took me this long to realize that you’ve changed your blog! Shame! But I’ve now read it back to front and have so enjoyed your candid posts. Congratulations on your second round of motherhood! 🙂

    • How would you have known? Hey, I have been reading your blog and I can never remember whether I have commented or was just thinking about it. LOL. I can’t believe you’ve read all of the blog. Kudos to you on slogging through!

  2. It was a pleasure, honestly. Your writing style is so engaging na doncversational that it feels like an informative phone chat rather than some kind of chore. I have no experience with parenting, but I do understand some of the other struggles you’re facing and wish you all the luck in the world to overcome them. I hope your other son is doing better, too. And for real, thank you for keeping up with my blog! I really enjoy having readers. 🙂

  3. Yay for turning corners. I only have one munchkin and I remember trying to finagle everything in order to get out of the house. I can’t imagine doing it with 2!!
    You’re doing a good job Momma!

  4. Mike (@hobbesoh)

    Well, I can’t remember what our first successful day trip was, but I can tell a story from this last weekend, when we travelled down from London to Canterbury for an overnight stay – the first time that we’ve done that milestone with the girls.

    Two hour car ride – both ways, the girls were sleeping and/or happy. No crying, just a little bit of complaining and a whole lotta singing along to silly kids tunes to keep them engaged. That plus two forward facing seats = success.

    They slept in two travel cots overnight in an unfamiliar room in and unfamiliar house. The sleeping arrangements were all screwed up too – I had to sleep in with them for the first time in a few months. I practically had flashbacks to the early, super-sleep-deprived nights waking up 4 or 5 times a night trying in vain to get the girls back to sleep. Luckily, there were a couple wakings and an early (6:30) morning, but nothing that put them completely off of their sleep cycle, which has been improving day to day. They also slept for almost two hours on the first nap, which made life a lot more bearable.

    All in all, even thought my wife had sleep issues of her own – we consider the weekend to be a huge success. Only thing that we regret is bringing the buggy (didn’t use) instead of the high chairs (really needed, esp given baby led weaning). But seriously, that’s the small stuff – and we’re not sweatin’ it.

    So here’s to successful trips and big steps for us twins parents.

Leave a Reply

